I am Woman, Hear me Roar. Or Don’t.

Helen Reddy, I am not. 

Reddy’s proclamation for women’s individuality, her words, though understood, even as an eleven year old, never quite knocked me off my feet.  While appreciating the song’s symbiotic nature and no disrespect to her, closest I came to excitement over the songs’ message was how great those lyrics ran together and that she and I sang in the same key.

“….you can bend but never break me, cause they only serve to make me more determined to achieve my final goal…” “yes I am wise, but it’s wisdom for the pain, yes I’ve paid the price, but look how much I’ve gained, I am strong, I am invincible, I am woman..”  

To celebrate womanhood is to celebrate manhood. I grew up with a very liberal mother. Divorced herself, she embraced her womanhood, though not merely because she was a woman;  more than that, she saw reason to celebrate humanity itself. Yet the virtues of womanhood are not to be underestimated. Now almost divorced, my principles, my virtue, opportunity arises, time to ponder, wonder what exactly those are.

Individuality, my own portrayal, is not that of as just a woman, it is more. It is as a human being. I do not place too much precedence on my womanhood this way, as that itself, is part of an identity I too, wish to shed. It is more about the one self; it has no gender, role, convention. Self is all of us, women and men. Quite happy as a woman, happiest as my own individual self most. This is how I see it.

About Carin

Writing is for me, though sharing with others, is a gift.

Leave a Reply

